Mobile phone and/or broadband services are being delivered to 17 remote Territory communities as part of the 2015-2018 NTG/Telstra Remote Telecommunications Co-investment Program.

Communities connected to date are:

  • Ali Curung
  • Barunga
  • Santa Teresa
  • Timber Creek
  • Titjikala
  • Manyallaluk
  • Minyerri
  • Kaltukatjara
  • Umbakumba
  • Bulman and
  • Weemol.

Communities in progress are:

  • Yarralin
  • Atitjere
  • Kintore
  • Mt Liebig
  • Belyuen and
  • Alpurrurulam.

Telecommunications infrastructure underpins all other digital initiatives. This infrastructure investment reduces the digital divide by providing access to modern telecommunications; opening up economic and social opportunities for residents and businesses in remote Territory communities. Communications services will be comparable with those enjoyed by other Australians.